Dr. Mary's Books: Juvenile Fiction

Dr. Mary's Books

Mary Ellen Erickson Ph.D.



      Dr. Mary has two different children's series. The Grandma Mary & Bonbon series which is a children's picture book series aimed towards children ages 3-7 and the Peanut Butter Club Series which is aimed towards children 7-13.

First Day of School

This book is the first book in a series of children's books written to build values, character, and work ethic in children. The book is about a grandmother and her puppy, Bonbon. Grandma is a retired teacher who loves children, so she decides to teach Bonbon work skills, values, and character by sending her to school, and also by instructing her at home. The book is designed as a teaching tool to help parents, grandparents, teachers, and school counselors work with children. It includes activities, vocabulary, lesson plans, objectives, and national career development guidelines.
Retail Price: $5.00 - Paperback
ISBN: 978-09765453-0-6
Hard Cover: $14.95
ISBN: 978-09765453-09
Library of Congress number: TX 6-076-431 - Series


This is the second book in the children's series. The book  is a 6" X 9" hardcover, and more pages than the first book. This delightful book starts with a snowstorm that makes Bonbon unhappy because she can't go to school. Bonbon's bad attitude prompts Grandma Mary to teach her how to have fun during a snowstorm, how to co-operate, and how to be a good hostess.
Retail Price: $10.00 (Hard cover only)
ISBN: 978-09765453-3-0
Library of Congress number: TX 6-076-431 - Series

Bonbon's Special Christmas

This is the third book in the children's series. The book is 6" X 9", has a hard cover, 28 pages and follows the same format as the other two books in this series. Bonbon learns about many Christmas traditions and the true meaning of Christmas when she and Grandma Mary have an old fashioned Christmas. The book has a Christian emphasis.
Retail Price: $14.95 (Hard cover only)
ISBN: 978-0-9765453-4-7
Library of Congress number: TX 6-076-431 - Series
What Happened to the Deer?

This book is about four grandchildren who spend the summer on an old fashioned farm with their grandparents. The children are bored, so they start a club and their first order of business is to investigate a local crime spree. By working together and relying on each other, the grandchildren learn about true friendship, responsibility, and how to have fun in an old-fashioned way, while creating lasting memories with their grandparents.
Retail Price: $13.95
ISBN: 978-0-595-42799-4
Hard Cover: $24.95
ISBN: 978-1-4401-4218-5
Library of Congress number: TX 6-863-205 - Series

Who Jinxed the C&G Ranch?

This book is the second in the Peanut Butter Club Mysteries Series. The story takes place on a ranch north of Medora, ND. The children and their grandparents join Aunt Gracie and Uncle Clyde in an attempt to find out what is jinxing the ranch so they can save the ranch from financial ruin.
Retail Price: $14.95
ISBN: 978-1-4401-4216-1
Hard Cover: $25.95
ISBN: 978-0-595-68396-3
Library of Congress number: TX 6-863-205 - Series

Did Bigfoot Steal Christmas?

The story takes place during the Christmas holiday in northern Minnesota at a ski lodge. The children and grandparents join cousins Hannah and Basil to discover that intrigue and excitement awaits them during their holiday. Dealing with a big black wolf, an angry bull moose, and a difficult sled dog race are just a few of the adventures the club members encounter as they solve another mystery.
Retail Price: $12.95
ISBN: 978-1-4759-9448-3
Hard Cover: $22.95
Library of Congress number: TX 6-863-205 - Series

© 2013 by Mary Ellen Erickson